TFR Home Page TFR Home PageContents ContentsPrev. Page Prev. PageNext Page Next PageComments Comments

The Summer 2002 Authors

Jackie Bartley is an Adjunct Assistant Professor of English at Hope College, and resides in Holland, MI. Ms. Bartley has been writing since her mid-30's and has published work in Blue Unicorn, Pinyon, Spoon River Poetry Review and others. Her first collection of poems, Bloodroot, was published this year by Mellen Press. Ms. Bartley won the White Eagle Coffee Store Press Chapbook award in 1996 for The Terrible Boundaries of the Body. Ms. Bartley is a member of AWP and the Poetry Society of America. She writes, "Writing may not change the world, but it matters. It matters terribly."

Mary Ellen Elias is a senior copywriter from E. Norwalk, CT. Ms. Elias has been writing since adolescence. She has published work in the Fairfield County Magazine (essay pending), Fairfield Weekly, the Fairfield Advocate, Stamford Advocate, and the New Haven Register. She was a finalist in the Blue Mountain Poetry contest.

Taylor Graham is a writer and editor from Somerset, CA. Ms. Graham has been
writing since 1960. She has published work in America, The Chattahoochee Review, The Iowa Review, Poetry International, Yankee, and others. She won first prize in the Berkeley Poets Contest and was first runner up in the Byline Chapbook Competition this year. Ms. Graham is a member of Pony Espresso Poets.

Nancy A. Henry is an attorney and teacher from Parsonsfield, ME. Ms. Henry has been writing since high school, 25 years ago. She has published work in Southern Humanities Review, Cafe Review, The Hollins Critic, Iris, St. Anthony Messenger and other journals. She was nominated for the Pushcart Prize and won an International Merit Award from Atlanta Review. Ms. Henry is a member of Maine Live Poets Society.

Michael Keshigian is a college educator and musician from Londonderry, NH. Mr. Keshigian has been writing since 1996. He has published work in ByLine Magazine, Poetry Depth Quarterly, Taproot, Sierra Nevada Review, Aurorean, Red Owl, and others.

Peter Larmey is a public relations and marketing consultant from Morrisville, NC. He has had several works of non-fiction and opinion pieces appear in national publications, but has only recently taken up the art of fiction writing. Mr. Larmey has been writing professionally for nine years, but "Victims" is the first of his short stories to be published. He spends most of his day in front of his computer at his home, with his two cats, Sammy and Tita.

Nathan Leslie is a Professor of English from Columbia, MD. Mr. Leslie has been writing since he was 16. He has published work in over 70 publications. He won the Katherine Anne-Porter Prize and was nominated for the Pushcart prize this year.

Charles Levenstein is a Professor of Work Environment from Brookline, MA. Mr. Levenstein has been writing for 50 years. He has published work in Poetry Bay, Red River Review, Rustlings of the Wind, Comrades, Amarillo Bay Review, Bridge Review, The Writers' Hood, and other on-line journals. His book, Lost Baggage, was published by Loom Press, Lowell, MA in 2001. He won Third Place in the November 2001 IBCP.

Lad Moore is a corporate executive from Jefferson, TX. Mr. Moore has been writing since he retired from business in 1998. He has more than 300 publishing credits on the web and in print, including Amarillo Bay, Carolina Country, Calliope, and Virginia Adversaria. His first book, Odie Dodie, has been released by BeWrite Books.. Mr. Moore has won Hawkeye Publishing's The Wordhammer Award, Best of Carve Magazine Anthology, and the Silver Quill. He was nominated to the Texas Institute of Letters this year. He writes, "I like creative nonfiction, because I sometimes run out of truth before I run out of words."

Aaron Rudolph is a teacher of composition and part-time tutor at a local college from Las Vegas, NM. Mr. Rudolph has published his first collection of poems, Sacred Things, by Bridge Burner's Publishing Co. His poems have appeared in Flyway, South Dakota Review, and Concho River Review.

Lisa Sornberger is a massage therapist in physical therapy from Willimantic, CT. Ms. Sornberger has been writing since a child. She has published work in New York Quarterly, Embers, 3, New Virginia Review, and Common Ground. She has won a Bucknell Fellowship for Younger Poets and a scholarship to the Wesleyan Writers Conference. Ms. Sornberger is a member of Thread City Poets.

Phibby Venable is a social worker from Abingdon, VA. Ms. Venable has been writing for 30 years. She has published work in Circle Magazine, Appalachian Journal, Apples&Oranges International, 2River, Southern Ocean Review, and various other publications.. She won the Penwoman Award in 1990.

Kelley Jean White is a pediatrician from Philadelphia, PA. Ms. White has been writing "all my life." She has published work in The Cafe Review, American Writing, Rattle, Nimrod, and the Journal of the American Academy of Pediatrics. She won the Mad Poets' Society Contest in 2000. Ms. White is a member of Mad Poets' Society (PA), and the Poetry Society of NH.

Allison Whittenberg is a teacher from Philadelphia, PA. Ms. Whittenberg has been writing for 14 years. She has published work in Sassy, Caloloo, Virgin Fiction II, DOJ, Columbia Review, The Black College Student, and The Southern Indiana Review. Ms. Whittenberg is a member of The Playwrights' Center. She writes, "A thing of beauty is a joy forever..."

Kirby Wright is an instructor at the Art Institute of California, and resides in Vista, CA. Mr. Wright has been writing for 15 years. He published work in Hawaii Review, Artful Dodge, and Blue Mesa Review. He won the Browning Society Award for Dramatic Monologue, the Anne Fields Poetry Prize, the Academy of American Poets Award, and a Fellowship in Poetry by the Silicon Valley Arts Council. He writes, "Now is history as fast as the mind remembers."

Michael Zack is a physician from Lexington, MA. Mr. Zack has been writing for six years. He has published work in over 75 journals.

TFR Home Page | Submission Guidelines | Frequently Asked Questions | Sign Our Guest Book | Contents | Donations
Workshops | Event Calendar | TFR Background | How to Contact Us | Editors and Authors Only | Privacy Statement

© Copyright 1997, 2024, The Fairfield Review Inc., All Rights Reserved.
Document last modified on: 08/19/2002

(i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o),

ga('create', 'UA-22493141-2', 'auto');
ga('send', 'pageview');